R/V KNORR CRUISE 
May-June 2001

The purpose of this study is to gain valuable knowledge on the properties of the Black Sea. The Black Sea is the worlds largest anoxic basin and provides much needed insight on the interface between oxic and anoxic water layers. The chemistry and biology of the Black Sea have been severely impacted by anthropogenic effects. It serves as a prototype example of how human impact can change the coastal ocean. 

There were two main objectives of this cruise.

The 1st Leg of the cruise started on 23 May 2001 and ended on 1 June 2001, the 2nd Leg  started on 1 June 2001 and ended on 6 June 2001. Field studies and measurements were performed at total of 25 stations in the western Black Sea.

2001 Knorr Cruise, Voyage 162, Leg 16 (Leg 1)
Station locations

 

Name and coordinates of the stations for R/V Knorr  LEG-1 Cruise

Sta. Number

Longitude

Latitude

Type of Experiment and data
1 41 12.83 29 07.35 CTD, Hydrochemistry
2 41 24.99  29 05.66 CTD, Hydrochemistry
3 41 30.03 29 15.24 CTD, Hydrochemistry, Hydrobiology
4 41 39.99 29 29.73 CTD, Hydrochemisry
5 41 58.44 29 56.63 CTD, Hydrochemistry, Hydrobiology
6 42 31.00 30 43.53 CTD, Hydrochemistry, Hydrobiology
7 41 53.00 30 30.00 CTD, Hydrochemistry, Hydrobiology
8 41 28.75 30 20.50 CTD, Hydrochemistry
9 41 25.50 30 15.75 Hydrochemistry
10 41 18.25 30 12.00 CTD, Hydrochemistry, Hydrobiology

   

Participants for the Black Sea Expedition
R/V Knorr Voyage 162, Leg 16 - Leg 1

Name Institute Country E-mail
James W. Murray, Chief Scientist  Univ. Washington US jmurray@u.washington.edu
Temel Oguz, Co-Chief Scientist  IMS/METU Turkey oguz@ims.metu.edu.tr
Elena Arashkevich  Shirshov Russia zatsepin@orc.ru
Saim Cebe  IMS/METU Turkey  
Matt Charette  WHOI US  mcharette@whoi.edu
Brian Clement UCSD US bgclemen@ucsd.edu
Alexander Drits  Shirshov Russia  
Dilek Ediger IMS/METU Turkey dilek@ims.metu.edu.tr
Gernot Friederich MBARI US frge@mbari.org
Brian Glazer Delaware US bglazer@udel.edu
Bill Hiscock Miami/RSMAS US wthiscoc@rsmas.miami.edu
Esabil Kakac IMS/METU Turkey  
Ahmet Kideys IMS/METU Turkey kideys@ims.metu.edu.tr
Michael Koblizek  Rutgers US koblizek@imcs.rutgers.edu
Sergey Konovalov MHI Ukraine sergey@alpha.mhi.iuf.net
George Luther Delaware US luther@udel.edu
Jessica A. Morgan VIMS  US jmorgan@vims.edu
Elisabeth Murray Univ. Washington US lm8@hotmail.com
Karen Murray UCSD US kjmurray@ucsd.edu
John Nevins  Harvard US jnevins@harvard.edu
Don Nuzzio  Delaware US 30846@udel.edu
Barbara Paul Univ. Washington US bpaul@ocean.washington.edu
Helen Quinby VIMS US quinby@vims.edu
Linda Rasmussen  WHOI US lrasmussen@whoi.edu
Bill Reeburgh UCIrvine US reeburgh@uci.edu
Alexander Romanov MHI  Ukraine romanov@alpha.mhi.iuf.net
Brad Tebo UCSD US btebo@ucsd.edu
Suleyman Tugrul IMS/METU  Turkey tugrul@ims.metu.edu.tr
David Valentine UCIrvine US dvalenti@uci.edu
Oguz Yigiterhan  IMS/METU Turkey ozeus@ims.metu.edu.tr
Yesim Yildiz  IMS/METU  Turkey yesim@ims.metu.edu.tr
Aysen Yilmaz IMS/METU Turkey yilmaz@ims.metu.edu.tr

 

2001 Knorr Cruise, Voyage 162, Leg 17 (Leg 2)
Station locations

 

Name and coordinates of the stations for R/V Knorr  LEG-2 Cruise

Sta. Number

Longitude

Latitude

Type of Experiment and data
1 41 12.80  29 07.40 CTD
2 42 30.00  30 46.00 CTD, Hydrochemistry, Hydrobiology
3 44 07.50  30 55.00 CTD, Hydrochemistry
4 44 31.70  30 58.00 CTD, Hydrochemisry
5 45 54.00  31 07.00 CTD
6 45 42.70  31 05.65 CTD
7 45 23.00 31 03.25 CTD,  Hydrobiology
8 44 58.00 31 00.25 CTD
9 44 31.70 30 58.00                   
10 44 26.20 31 31.00 CTD, Hydrobiology
11 44 21.20 32 04.00 CTD, Hydrochemistry, Hydrobiology
12 44 17.90 32 16.09 CTD, Hydrochemistry, Hydrobiology
13 42 30.00 30 46.00 CTD, Hydrochemistry, Hydrobiology
14 41 27.50 30 15.75 CTD, Hydrochemistry, Hydrobiology
15 41 34.50 30 09.25  

  

Participants for the Black Sea Expedition
R/V Knorr Voyage 162, Leg 17 - Leg 2

Name Institute Country E-mail
James W. Murray, Chief Scientist  Univ. Washington US jmurray@u.washington.edu
Sukru Besiktepe, Co-Chief Scientist  IMS/METU Turkey sukru@ims.metu.edu.tr
Alexander Bologa MRI/Constantza  Romania abologa@alpha.rmri.ro
Ken Buesseler WHOI  US kbuesseler@whoi.edu
Saim Cebe IMS/METU Turkey  
Brian Clement UCSD US bgclemen@ucsd.edu
Albert Coleman  Yale US albert.coleman@yale.edu
Selahattin Erdogan IMS/METU  Turkey sals@ims.metu.edu.tr
Paul Falkowski Rutgers US falko@imcs.rutgers.edu
Gernot Friederich MBARI US frge@mbari.org
Brian Glazer Delaware US bglazer@udel.edu
Esabil Kakac  IMS/METU Turkey  
Zbiginew Kober Rutgers US zkober@imcs.rutgers.edu
Sergey Konovalov  MHI Ukraine sergey@alpha.mhi.iuf.net
Willard "Billy" Moore South Carolina US moore@mail.geol.sc.edu
Elisabeth Murray  Univ. Washington US lm8@hotmail.com
Anna Obraztsova  UCSD US anno@ucsd.edu
Barbara Paul Univ. Washington US bpaul@ocean.washington.edu
Helen Quinby  VIMS  US quinby@vims.edu
Dan Repeta  WHOI  US dan@pigs.whoi.edu
Bill Reeburgh UCIrivine US reeburgh@uci.edu
Alexander Romanov   MHI Ukraine romanov@alpha.mhi.iuf.net
Elta Smith  WHOI  US elta123@whoi.edu
Robert Trouwborst Delaware US rtrouwb@udel.edu
Suleyman Tugrul IMS/METU  Turkey tugrul@ims.metu.edu.tr
Ebru Unal IMS/METU Turkey ebru@ims.metu.edu.tr
Zahit Uysal IMS/METU Turkey uysal@ims.metu.edu.tr
Marian Westley  Hawaii US mwestley@soest.hawaii.edu
Dave Wisegarver  NOAA/PMEL US wise@pmel.noaa.gov
Oguz Yigiterhan  IMS/METU Turkey ozeus@ims.metu.edu.tr
Aysen Yilmaz IMS/METU Turkey yilmaz@ims.metu.edu.tr

For more details visit: http://oceanweb.ocean.washington.edu/cruises/Knorr2001/


prev

next

main page


NATO SfP footer